Cree en grande.

Chile’s Copa America death group: Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Jamaica

Chile’s Copa America death group: Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Jamaica



Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Jamaica were seeded in Group B, the Death of Group of Chile’s 2015 Copa America, which promises a concentration of international superstars.

The host Chile, seeded in Group A, will rival Mexico, Ecuador and Bolivia, while Group C was composed of Brazil, Colombia, Peru and Venezuela, according to the draw made on Monday at the resort of Vina del Mar (120 km west of Santiago).

Chile and Ecuador will play the opening match on Thursday June 11th at the National Stadium in Santiago.

The 44th edition of the tournament world's oldest national teams will be played in eight Chilean cities until July 4th.

Chile’s Copa America transcends the region and catches players who play worldwide  by bringing together a multitude of figures like Lionel Messi, Neymar, James Rodriguez, Alexis Sanchez and Edinson Cavani.

The event promises to be extremely competitive as very well trained national teams from the region will participate, guided by super stars who play in the best clubs of the world.

Argentine Lionel Messi (Barcelona), and Sergio Agüero (Manchester City), Brazil's Neymar (Barcelona), Chilean Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal) and Arturo Vidal (Juventus) and Colombian James Rodriguez (Real Madrid) and Radamel Falcao (Manchester United) are among the stars in the strongest clubs of the world and will be featured in the upcoming tournament.


Argentina and Uruguay: once again meet face to face


Uruguay (15 titles) and Argentina (14), historical rivals meet once again in Group B, and Brazil, are no longer the only favorites for the tournament.

Argentina, with Messi, Carlos Tevez (Juventus) and Aguero is almost forced to pay a debt this time around since they have been 22 years without international titles. They were close at Brazil’s 2014 World Cup but fell short against Germany.

Meanwhile, the only incentive for Brazil to win this tournament would be to wipe away the tear of falling to a disappointing 4th place at the World Cup in front of their fans.

Uruguay, the only team that reached the semifinals in all editions of the continental tournament in this century (2001, 2004, 2007 and 2011) and is the current defending champion, will not have the advantage of having  Luis Suarez (Barcelona) suspended by FIFA for nine games (already completed one) for biting an opponent during Brazil’s World Cup.


Colombia and Chile are favorites


Chile is in thirteenth place of the classification by FIFA and has taken a leap in quality that leaves them as one of the candidates to win their first international title at home.

"Complexity on Group A will be shown with time, as we will have to see what Mexico shows up with, because they will surely not come with a U-23 team or an alternate team.  And Ecuador is complicated because in the last hour they have had a significant evolution, "said Chilean coach Jorge Sampaoli, after the draw.

Another program that exploded during Brazil’s 2014 World Cup was Colombia; with Argentine coach Jose Pekerman, who has a solid team structure and leadership of 23 year old James Rodriguez, who is taking much interest while playing in Ronaldo’s Real Madrid.

"Facing Brazil in any situation is always difficult. But there is an important balance in South America," said Jose Pekerman.

During the ceremony of the draw at the Quinta Vergara Amphitheater Park, where famous music festivals take place, the President of Chile, Michelle Bachelet said “she has the dream of keeping the Cup at home”.

In her short speech, after the transmission of a video showing the eight tournament venues, Bachelet said her country would "work hard for so that the stadiums meet the standards of FIFA."

Chile’s Copa America will be played in Santiago and Rancagua (center), Viña del Mar, Valparaíso (west), Antofagasta and La Serena (both in the north), and in Temuco and Concepción (in the south), although the latter stage only will be used from the quarterfinals.

CONMEBOL has decided this Sunday in Viña del Mar that Chile will play three games in the initial phase in Santiago, while Brazil will play two games, and Argentina will compete in La Serena and Viña del Mar.

The national teams must be present at their respective hosting cities 30 days before the start of the competition, to be played between June 11 and July 4, 2015 throughout eight cities in Chile.