Cree en grande.

Copa Sudamericana: facts, figures and trivia about the final

Copa Sudamericana: facts, figures and trivia about the final

Huracán, of Argentina, and Independiente Santa Fe, of Colombia, will fight for the 2015 Copa Sudamericana title. It will no doubt an exciting to final games. Here's what the statistics from previous the finals have to say.


Finals Copa Sudamericana

Year - Champion – Runner-up – Results

2002: San Lorenzo  – Atlético Nacional (4-0 and 0-0)

2003: Cienciano  – River Plate (3-3 and 1-0)

2004: Boca Juniors  – Bolívar (0-1 and 2-0)

2005: Boca Juniors – Pumas (1-1 and 1-1. Penalties 4-3)

2006: Pachuca – Colo Colo (1-1 and 2-1)

2007: Arsenal – América of Mexico (3-2 and 1-2)

2008: Internacional – Estudiantes (1-0 and 1-1)

2009: Liga de Quito – Fluminense (5-1 and 0-3)

2010: Independiente – Goias (0-2 and 3-1. Penalties 5-3)

2011: Universidad de Chile – Liga de Quito (1-0 and 3-0)

2012: Sao Paulo – Tigre (0-0 and 2-0)

2013: Lanús – Ponte Preta (1-1 y 2-0)

2014: River Plate – Atlético Nacional (1-1 and 2-0)



Other stats of the finals

Only four teams have reached the final of the competition on more than one occasion: Boca Juniors, Atletico Nacional, River Plate and Liga de Quito, twice each.

Only two of the thirteen finals were decided on penalties. In 2005 at the Bombonera, Boca Juniors defeated Pumas of Mexico and in 2010 Idependiente did the same against Goias.

Three teams were champions without conceding a goal over the final two matches: San Lorenzo (2002), Universidad de Chile (2011) and Sao Paulo (2012).

Universidad de Chile also has another record: it is the only team that won the Copa Sudamericana by winning the final two games. They defeated Liga de Quito 1-0 in the first leg and won the rematch 3-0 in Santiago.

Liga de Quito is the club that has scored the most goals in a final match of a Copa Sudamericana. In the first leg in the 2009 edition they beat Fluminense 5-1 (Edison Mendez 3, Franklin Salas, Ulises de la Cruz - Marquinhos).

In the 2007 final the two clubs both won away. Arsenal beat America in the Azteca Stadium in the first leg 3-2 and then lost on the pitch of Racing Club 2-1.


Eduardo Bolaños/

Design: DD/