Cree en grande.

Brazil maintains their hegemony and are on to the 2015 WC

Brazil maintains their hegemony and are on to the 2015 WC

The extraordinary Brazil won its sixth Women's Copa América championship in its history after drawing 0-0 on Sunday against Colombia. Brazil had the most points of the four teams in the final.

The Brazilian team now goes in search of the world title in the tournament that will be held in Canada between June 6 and July 5, 2015. 

Of the six titles won by Brazil, this is the fourth time that they have won it away from home. Previously they had won in Argentina, Peru and Ecuador twice (2013 and 2014).

The trophy was presented by the Vice President of CONMEBOL and President of the Colombian Football Federation, Luis Bedoya, as well as the host of the event, Luis Chiriboga, President of the Ecuadorian Football Federation.

Game stats:


Colombia: Sandra Sepúlveda; Carolina Arias, Angela Clavijo, Katherin Arias, Natalia Gaitan, Fatima Montaño, Diana Ospina, Isabella Echeverry, Daniela Montoya, Hazleydi Rincón and Ingrid Vidal (Andrade) (Velasquez). Coach: Fabián Taborda.

Brazil: Andréia Suntaque; Poliana Barbosa, Bruna Benites, Tayla Pereira, Miraildes Maciel Mota, Rilany Aguiar (Tamires), Maurine Dorlenes, Thaisa M. Rosa, Darlene Reguera (Andresinha), Andressa Alves and Cristiane Rozeira. Coach: Oswaldo Alvarez.

Yellow cards: Indrid Vidal (36 min - Col). (Carolina Arias - 85 min - Col); Hazleydi Rincón (Col 90+1 min).

Referee: Gabriela Bandeira; Luciana Mascaraña and Loreto Toloza. 4th Official: Ma. Belén Carvajal. Advisor: Abel Gnecco. Delegate: Michael Sánchez.


Ecuador, who finished in third place, will face a team from the CONCACAF region in a playoff for a spot in the 2015 Women's World Cup™. The first leg will be played on November 8 or 9 and the second leg on November 22 or 23.

Honor Roll of the seventh edition of the Women's Copa América 

The Alberto Spencer award for top scorer went to Cristiane Rozeira de Souza Silva of Brazil with six goals scored. 
Argentina, who finished in fourth place, won the Fair Play Trophy. 
The three teams that have qualified for the World Cup in Canada next year were Brazil, Colombia and Ecuador.





Alberto Spencer Trophy (top goal scorer)

Cristiane Rozeira de Souza Silva

Fair Play Trophy