Cree en grande.

South America has won 11 of the 18 previous U-20 World Cups

South America has won 11 of the 18 previous U-20 World Cups
South America has won 11 of the previous 18 U-20 World Cups before this nineteenth edition in which Uruguay will face France on Saturday in Istanbul in the final. CONMEBOL could add a new success if Uruguay pulls out the victory.

South American football has also won eight of the last ten editions. Argentina (six titles) and Brazil (five) have shared all the trophies for the continent since the first tournament, played in Tunis in 1977.

The Argentinean team, that incidentally did not qualify for Turkey despite hosting the Sudamericano, won titles in Japan-1979, Qatar-1995, Malaysia-1997, Argentina-2001, The Netherlands-2005 and Canada-2007. They have won these titles with some of the biggest names in football including Diego Maradona (1979), Lionel Messi (2005) and Sergio 'Kun' Agüero (2005, 2007).

For their part Brazil has won in Mexico-1983, Soviet Union-1985, Australia-1993, The United Arab Emirates-2003 and Colombia-2011.

Only Spain and Ghana broke the South American dominance in the last ten editions, taking the trophy respectively in Nigeria-1999 and Egypt-2009.

France has the opportunity to break a fourteen year UEFA drought in the Under-20, since the 'Old Continent' has not raised this trophy since Spain.

The other five titles were for the Soviet Union (Tunisia, 1977), Germany (Australia, 1981), Yugoslavia (Chile, 1987) and Portugal (Saudi Arabia, 1989 and Portugal, 1991).

Uruguay and France have never won this competition but Uruguay was in the final of Malaysia in 1997 where they lost 2-1 to Argentina.


Text: AFP