Sub 17

U-17: Organizing Committee confirms game start times for April 9

The Organizing Committee of the U-17 Sudamericano that is taking place in the cities of San Juan and Mendoza, Argentina confirmed the schedule for the April 9 matches.

Paraguay and Colombia tie 1-1 in opening game of South American Under 17 tournament

Paraguay and Colombia tie 1-1 in opening game of South American Under 17 tournament

Paraguay and Colombia played to a 1-1 tie in this Tuesday in the opening game of the South American Under 17 tournament.  The tournament is being played in Argentina and will finish April 28th.  The top four teams will receive berths for the Under 17 World Cup that is to be played in United Arab Emirates later this year.

Jesús Medina (62 minutes) put Paraguay on the scoreboard in a one-on-one play against the Colombian goalkeeper, but a quick answer by the team from the land of coffee tied it up when Gustavo Torres scored (63 minutes).

This game was part of Group A competition.  Along with Paraguay and Colombia, the other teams in Group A are Argentina, Ecuador, and Venezuela.  The game was played in Juan Gilberto Funes stadium in the city of La Punta, in the Argentinian province of San Luis.  San Luis, 800 kilometers to the west of Buenos Aires is one of two sites where the tournament is contested, the other being Mendoza, which is 1100 kilometers to the west of the Argentinian capital.  

Owing to a heavy rainfall had hit San Luis earlier in the afternoon, the field was in regular - but not excellent - condition.

Goalkeeper Victor Arboleda Murillo (Deportivo Cali) shined for the Colombian selection coached by Harold Rivera.   He managed to prevent the competent Antonio Sanabria from scoring twice.  Sanabria is one of several agressive forwards that Paraguayan coach Hugo Caballero has at his disposal.  

In the second half of the game Jeison Angulo Trujillo, Andrés Tello, Alfredo Morelo and Marlos Durán (all of the Colombian team) recieved yellow cards, along with Omar Alderete (of Paraguay).  All of the yellow cards were for rough play.

In the second series of games in Group A competition this Thursday, Paraguay will compete with Argentina and Colombia will have a bye.

On Wednesday in Mendoza Group B competition will begin. Group B members consist of Uruguay, Chile, Peru, Bolivia, and Brazil.  Of these, Brazil is the favorite and looks to win its fifth consecutive title.  


Foto: La Nueve/Perú. com



All the teams in Group A are in San Luis

The selections of Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay and Venezuela, all members of Group A and rivals of Argentina in the first stage of the U-17 Sudamericano tournament have arrived in San Luis.

South American U-17 Tournament host determined

San Luis and Mendoza (Arg) only await the sound of the starting whistle, as the Under-17 South American tournament will be played in these two cities from April 2 - 28. The four best teams willl recieve entry into the Under-17 world championship which will be played in United Arab Emirates from October 17 to November 8.